What is a Temporary Food Establishment?
A Temporary Food Establishment (WAC 246-215-131) is where a person prepares or sells foods with a fixed menu at a fixed location for (a) no more than 21 consecutive days in conjunction with a single event, such as a fair, or (b) no more than three days a week in conjunction with an approved, recurring event, such as a farmers market.
Who needs to get a Temporary Permit?
All individuals or groups planning to hold events that serve food and are open to the public are required to obtain a permit. If you advertise (with newspaper, television or radio announcements, flyers, signs, banners or other means) to the public, you are required to get a permit.
Why is a Temporary Permit necessary?
Food service is serious business, as is preventing foodborne illnesses. A temporary permit is required by state law (WAC 246-215). The state food regulation states that all retail food establishments must have a valid permit conspicuously posted in the establishment. The temporary permit is issued after consultation with the health department. We will review your application to find ways to increase your efficiency and safety, and possibly limit your menu or preparation steps to protect public health.
Why is a Temporary Permit necessary?
- Complete the temporary application. Return the completed application to our office at least 14 days before the event. Applications received 1-13 days before the event will be charged a late fee, as noted on the application.
- Have your application reviewed and approved by one of the health district’s Environmental Health Educator.
- Pay the appropriate fee (the fee schedule is printed on the application).
- Make sure at least 1 person with a valid Washington State Food Worker Card is in the booth at all times.
- Post the permit in your booth.
TEMPORARY FOOD BOOTH GUIDELINES
Temporary food booths must meet many of the same requirements as permanent establishments. Because of the lack of certain facilities however, temporary food booths also have restrictions that do not apply to other establishments.
As a temporary food booth operator, you are responsible for maintaining your booth to meet Washington State food service (WAC 246-215-131) requirements.
To print a handwashing poster
1. Food Worker Card
At least one food worker with a valid Washington State Food Worker Card must be in the booth at all times. The card, or a legible photocopy, must be posted in the booth.
2. Employee Health
Any person with a communicable disease, such as with diarrhea, vomiting, or a fever; or with open sores or infected cuts on their hands, may NOT work in any food establishment.
3. Handwashing Policy
All employees must wash their hands after:
Eating, smoking and drinking are not allowed in the food preparation areas. All unauthorized people must stay out of the food preparation areas. Animals (including service animals) are not permitted in the food preparation area.
5. Accessible Employee Bathroom
All food booths must be within 200 feet of a restroom with handwashing facilities including warm running water, soap, and paper towels.
All food preparation and storage must be done toward the back of the booth or otherwise protected from public contamination. When using a grill or hot oil, the equipment must be separated from the public by at least 4 feet to protect people from burns.
All food preparation and storage areas must have a weather-proof, overhead cover. Lights must have safety shields to prevent food contamination from broken glass. Food contact surfaces must be smooth and easily-cleanable. Flooring should limit mud and dust.
8. On-Site Preparation Only
ALL FOOD PREPARATION must be done in the booth or in an approved kitchen facility. Approval must be granted by the health department in advance.
Sample Food Booth Layout
9. Handwashing facilities
All temporary food booths must have at least 1 handwash facility available for employee use. The handwash facility must be set-up before food preparation begins.
The handwash facility MUST have at least:
All food establishments must prepare fresh sanitizer before food preparation. A sanitizer is used to destroy germs (bacteria and viruses) on clean surfaces. A common, approved sanitizer is 1 teaspoon of regular, unscented bleach (5.25 percent sodium hypochlorite) in 1 gallon of cool water. Sanitizer may be kept in an open bucket with clean wiping cloths or in a spray container. Once a surface is sanitized, it should be allowed to air-dry. Sanitizer and wiping cloths must be replaced frequently throughout the day.
11. Dishwashing facilities
Equipment and utensils must be washed in three separate compartments.
If you do not have a 3-compartment sink, you must take 3 dish basins for dishwashing. Also plan on how you will supply adequate amounts of hot water and dispose of the gray water.
Click Here for your TEMP Food Event Application
Asotin County Food Worker Cards now online
Food Worker Card
Washington State requires that all food workers have food safety training before handling food served to the public. Food workers who take a food safety training class and pass the State of Washington exam on food safety basics are issued a Food Worker Card (also called a Food Handler Permit).
Am I a food worker?
You are a food worker if you work with unpackaged food, food equipment or utensils, or with any surface where people put unwrapped food.
Do I need to get a food worker card?
Yes. All food workers are required (Chapter 246-217 WAC) to have a valid food worker card to work in Washington. It’s important that your card, or a copy of it, is with you at work and available for the health department to check during a food inspection.
Can I start work before I get my card?
Yes, you can work for up to 14 days before you get your card – if you get food safety training from your employer.
Can I get my food worker card online?
Yes, all local health departments offer the food worker training, test, and card online. The only authorized online training program is www.foodworkercard.wa.gov. Other websites that appear to offer a similar card online are not valid in Washington.
What does a card cost?
A food worker card cost $10. Once you have a food worker card, we recommend that you keep the original and provide a copy to your employer.
Can I work anywhere in Washington with my card?
Yes. You can use your valid Washington State food worker card anywhere in Washington. If you move or get another job in a different county, your food worker card goes with you.
Can I use a card I got in another state?
No. You must have a Washington State food worker card to be employed as a food worker in our state.
Is there a study guide for the food safety exam?
Yes. Food and Beverage Workers’ Manual is a study guide to help prepare you for the food safety training class and exam. The manual is available in seven languages, including Braille upon request.
I lost my card. Can I get a replacement?
Yes. If you got your card online, sign back in towww.foodworkercard.wa.gov. After you select your language and follow the prompts, select “Returning User.” You will need to enter your registration information and answer your security question exactly as you entered it when you were a new user. Choose “Replace My Valid Food Worker Card.” A payment may be required.
How often must I renew my card?
Your first food worker card is valid for 2 years. Before the card expires, you must take the food safety training class and pass the exam again. Renewal cards after that are valid for 3 or 5 years.
Can I get a renewal card if I have a current valid card?
Yes, you may apply for a renewal card if your current card is less then 2 years old (a current card that will not expire until 1 to 60 days after you get your renewal card.) You must show your current valid card when you apply for a renewal.
Do renewal cards last longer than my first card?
Yes, renewal cards are valid for 3 years from the issue date. You can get a renewal card if you take a food worker training class and pass the Washington State exam.
Is there a renewal card for people who have extra training?
Yes. You can receive a 5-year renewal food worker card, if you have a current card and can show that you have had “additional food safety training” within the past 2 years.
What do I need to qualify for a 5-year card?